Research Group Security • Usability • Society (SECUSO)

Guests in 2021

March

 

Dr. Sebastian Pape, PhD (Goethe-University Frankfurt am Main)

In his talk, Dr Sebastian Pape presented recent research on human assessment of security maturity levels, serious games to counter social engineering attacks and technology acceptance and usability of PETs.

 

Farzaneh Karegar (Karlstad University)

In her talk, Farzaneh Karegar presented her doctoral dissertation where she proposed usable tools and solutions to improve user-centred transparency, intervenability, and consent, thereby empowering them to take control of their data and make informed decisions.

 

February

 

Malte Greulich (KIT)

Malte Greulich presented his paper with preliminary insights from an exploratory study on cybersecurity perplexity, a novel concept describing the paradoxical psychological state that individuals experience when facing adverse cybersecurity conditions in the workplace.

 

January

 

Prof. Dr. Reto Koenig, PhD (Bern University of Applied Sciences)

Prof. Koenig explained why e-voting is difficult and asked us to decide whether it is a workable solution or whether in-person voting is still the way to go.

 

Dr. David Lanius, PhD (KIT)

In his talk, Dr. Lanius showed why it is important to have a clear definition of the "false news" and how this would help confronting the epistemic threat they pose.

Forschungsgruppe Security • Usability • Society (SECUSO)

Gäste in 2021

März

 

Dr. Sebastian Pape, PhD (Goethe-University Frankfurt am Main)

In seinem Vortrag präsentierte Dr. Sebastian Pape aktuelle Forschungsergebnisse zur Beurteilung des Sicherheitsreifegrades durch den Menschen, zu ernsthaften Spielen gegen Social-Engineering-Angriffe sowie zur Akzeptanz und Verwendbarkeit von PETs durch Technologien.

 

Farzaneh Karegar (Karlstad University)

In ihrem Vortrag präsentierte Farzaneh Karegar ihre Doktorarbeit, in der sie verwendbare Tools und Lösungen vorschlug, um die benutzerzentrierte Transparenz, Intervenierbarkeit und Zustimmung zu verbessern und sie so zu befähigen, die Kontrolle über ihre Daten zu übernehmen und fundierte Entscheidungen zu treffen.

 

Februar

 

Malte Greulich (KIT)

Malte Greulich präsentierte seine Arbeit mit vorläufigen Erkenntnissen aus einer explorativen Studie zur Ratlosigkeit von Cybersicherheit, einem neuartigen Konzept, das den paradoxen psychologischen Zustand beschreibt, den Einzelpersonen erleben, wenn sie am Arbeitsplatz widrigen Cybersicherheitsbedingungen ausgesetzt sind.

 

Januar

 

Prof. Dr. Reto Koenig, PhD (Berner Fachhochschule)

Prof. Koenig erklärte, warum E-Voting schwierig ist, und forderte uns auf, zu entscheiden, ob es sich um eine praktikable Lösung handelt oder ob das persönliche Voting noch der richtige Weg ist.

 

 Dr. David Lanius, PhD (KIT)

In seinem Vortrag zeigte Dr. Lanius, warum es wichtig ist, eine klare Definition der „falschen Nachrichten“ zu haben und wie dies dazu beitragen würde, der von ihnen ausgehenden epistemischen Bedrohung zu begegnen.