Research Group Security • Usability • Society (SECUSO)

KD²Ex (KIT - University of Excellence)

As part of the KIT Excellence University concept "The Research University in the Helmholtz Association | Living the Change", the "KIT Future Fields" initiative specifically supports KIT scientists in pursuing highly innovative and risky projects in the disciplines that promise scientific breakthroughs. An interdisciplinary team was formed and has received funding for the KD²Ex as part of a one-time Future Fields special call for investments. This will enable new forms of experimental research: Digital Citizen Science in the area of "Wellbeing at Home".

The strategic goal with this funding is to build a trusted ecosystem for empirical experimental research in the lab and in the field (KD²Ex). The nucleus of this ecosystem is the DFG-funded Karlsruhe Decision & Design Lab (KD²Lab). KD²Ex will provide a unique infrastructure that enables new forms of experimental research in the sense of Digital Citizen Science. Individual citizens as well as citizen groups (e.g. households) will be enabled to actively participate in research. KD²Ex includes public infrastructure such as assembly booths and terminals, household infrastructure including neurophysiological devices as well as software (e.g. digital participation platform). Thematically, the initial focus will be on the research field of "Wellbeing at Home" from a work and education perspective, a highly relevant topic during the Corona crisis and beyond.

Within this project, a study is conducted that examines everyday working life. The number of cyber-attacks has increased since the Corona-related shutdown. At the same time, many employees are less well protected from these attacks at home, which has many reasons. On the one hand, the fear of becoming a victim of such an attack is increasing, while at the same time workers lack both awareness-raising measures and tools to help them recognise these attacks. It is important that the measures and tools are efficient and effective and significantly increase the workers' sense of security. In the context of this study, the efficiency, effectiveness and the increase in self-efficacy in everyday work for selected available awareness-raising measures and tools are therefore measured over a longer period of time. At the same time, the digital participation platform enables a debate on experiences with the measures and tools in order to derive suggestions for improvement measures.

Project website

Funding body: KIT - University of Excellence

Partners: Prof. Christof Weinhardt (IISM), Prof. Alexander Mädche (IISM), Prof. Petra Nieken (IBU), Prof. Benjamin Scheibehenne (IISM), Prof. Nora Szech (ECON), and Prof. Alexander Woll (IfSS)

Funding period: 01.01.2021 - 30.06.2022

Contact: Christopher BeckmannPeter Mayer, Melanie Volkamer

Forschungsgruppe Security • Usability • Society (SECUSO)

KD²Ex (KIT-Exzellenzuniversität)

Im Rahmen des KIT-Exzellenzuniversitätskonzepts "Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft | Living the Change" werden mit der Initiative "KIT Future Fields" Wissenschaftler*innen des KIT gezielt darin unterstützt, hoch innovative und riskante Projekte im Grenz- und Übergangsbereich der Disziplinen zu verfolgen, die wissenschaftliche Durchbrüche erwarten lassen. Es hat sich ein interdisziplinäres Team am KIT zusammengefunden und für das KD²Ex eine Förderung im Rahmen einer einmaligen Future Fields Sonderausschreibung für Investitionen erhalten. Diese ermöglicht neue Formen der experimentellen Forschung: Digital Citizen Science im Bereich "Wellbeing at Home".

Das strategische Ziel mit dieser Finanzierung ist der Aufbau eines vertrauenswürdigen Ökosystems für empirische Experimentalforschung im Labor und im Feld (KD²Ex). Die Keimzelle dieses Ökosystems ist das von der DFG geförderte Karlsruhe Decision & Design Lab (KD²Lab). KD²Ex wird eine einzigartige Infrastruktur bereitstellen, die neue Formen der experimentellen Forschung im Sinne von Digital Citizen Science ermöglicht. Dabei werden einzelne Bürger*innen sowie Bürger*innen-Gruppen (z.B. Haushalte) in die Lage versetzt, sich aktiv an der Forschung zu beteiligen. KD²Ex umfasst öffentliche Infrastruktur wie Versammlungskabinen und Terminals, Haushaltsinfrastruktur einschließlich neurophysiologischer Geräte sowie Software (z.B. digitale Beteiligungsplattform).  Thematisch wird der Fokus zunächst auf das Forschungsfeld "Wellbeing at Home" aus Arbeits- und Bildungsperspektive gelegt, ein während der Corona-Krise und darüber hinaus hoch relevantes Thema.

In diesem Rahmen wird eine Studie durchgeführt, die Sensibilisierungsmaßnahmen und Tools im Arbeitsalltag untersucht. Die Anzahl der Cyber-Angriffe ist seitdem Corona-bedingten Shut-Down erneut angestiegen. Gleichzeitig sind viele Arbeitnehmer*innen zu Hause weniger gut vor diesen Angriffen geschützt, was vielfältige Gründe hat. Einerseits steigt die Angst, Opfer eines solchen Angriffs zu werden, gleichzeitig fehlen den Arbeitnehmer*innen sowohl Sensibilisierungsmaßnahmen als auch Tools zur Unterstützung bei der Erkennung dieser Angriffe. Hierbei ist es wichtig, dass die Maßnahmen und Tools effizient und effektiv sind und das Sicherheitsgefühl der Arbeitnehmer*innen signifikant steigern. Im Rahmen dieser Studie wird daher die Effizienz, die Effektivität und die Steigerung der Selbstwirksamkeit im Arbeitsalltag für ausgewählte verfügbare Sensibilisierungsmaßnahmen und Tools über einen längeren Zeitraum gemessen. Gleichzeitig ermöglicht die digitale Partizipationsplattform eine Debatte über Erfahrungen mit den Maßnahmen bzw. Tools, um daraus Vorschläge für Verbesserungsmaßnahmen abzuleiten.

Projektwebseite

Gefördert durch: KIT-Exzellenzuniversität

Kooperationspartner: Prof. Christof Weinhardt (IISM), Prof. Alexander Mädche (IISM), Prof. Petra Nieken (IBU), Prof. Benjamin Scheibehenne (IISM), Prof. Nora Szech (ECON) und Prof. Alexander Woll (IfSS)

Zeitrahmen: 01.01.2021 - 30.06.2022

Kontakt: Christopher BeckmannPeter Mayer, Melanie Volkamer